Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card



Seventh Son (Tales of Alvin Maker, Book 1) Seventh SonOrson Scott Card; Tor Fantasy 1993WorldCatWhen Alvin Jr. was born he was the seventh living son of a seventh son. The flooding creek tried to sweep away his mother while in childbirth, but they both lived. His family was heading west into the Wilds of Wobbish Country in the New World in the late 18th or early 19th century. They found a piece of land and settled. They named the surrounding area Vigor, after Al’s oldest brother and a community grew up there.

Al seems to have odd powers watching over him. His father can count the times his life has been threatened due to some freak accident involving water. Yet he survives. When a new preacher moves to Vigor, the Vigor Church is built. During the construction, the roof beam comes loose and falls onto the 6-year-old child. It split before it could crush him, miraculously landing on either side of him, with Alvin unhurt. Alvin Sr. vows to keep his son away from the church during construction. The preacher is sure the devil is in both the father and the son. He vows to cast the devil out of Vigor and the surrounding area.

This speculative fiction novel is a combination of the Alternate Earth storyline, supernatural, and fantasy. Is is an interesting weave. I was never sure I liked it, yet I could not put it down. Even after I was finished my feelings towards the story have been ambivalent. I don’t care for the obvious Christian bashing. Yet the bashing is aimed at the overzealous, narrow minded, tunnel visioned Christian. The writing is seductive, although it does not seem all that powerful while reading. This appears to be the first of a series, although I didn’t know that when I picked it up. Will I read another of the series? Probably, some day…

More books by Orson Scott Card

Link to Amazon.comLink to BetterWorld Books

One Comment

  1. Comment by Jandy:

    After listening to a friend rave about this series, I decided to go back to it. I re-read Seventh Son and liked it better this time. While I still agree with most of the above, I wasn’t as lost this time and was able to wrap my mind around it better. I have all six books sitting on Mt. Bookpile, and plan on reading the series over the next few months.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *