Future on Ice by Orson Scott Card, editor


Science FictionFuture on Ice by Orson Scott Card, editor

Future on IceOrson Scott Card; Tom Doherty Assoc Llc 2006WorldCatThis is an anthology of science fiction short stories written in the 1980’s by premiere authors in the field. There is a new robot story from Isaac Asimov, a gripping supernatural tale by George R. R. Martin, and a computer take over story by John Varley among the many chosen. Orson Scott Card, the editor of the book, has “The Fringe”, which is also found in the book Folk of the Fringe.

These stories represent what Card believes to be the cream of the stories written in the 80’s. Each story is proceeded by editorial comments by him on the author and/or the story.

The authors included here are Isaac Asimov, Greg Bear, Gregory Benford, Octavia E. Butler, Orson Scott Card, C.J. Cherryh, John Crowley, Karen Joy Fowler, Lisa Goldstein, John Kessel, Nancy Kress, George R.R. Martin, S.C. Sykes, Lewis Shiner, John Varley, Andrew Weiner, Walter Jon Williams, and David Zindell. There are some fascinating stories included.

More books by Orson Scott Card

Link to Amazon.com BooksLink to BetterWorld Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *